by:   7/1/2017

Discuss the Decision Here

The Washington Catholic Athletic Conference (“WCAC”) Announces Two Subdivisions in Football and Plans for School Expansion

Beginning the Fall of 2018, the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference’s football teams will compete in two divisions. Each division will have its own playoffs and championship game.

The Capital Division will be composed of Bishop McNamara, DeMatha, Gonzaga, Our Lady of Good Counsel, and St. John’s.

The Metro Division will include Archbishop Carroll, Bishop Ireton, Bishop O’Connell, Paul VI, and St. Mary’s Ryken.

Schools are able to compete across divisions and maintain long-standing rivalries and major conference games. The composition of schools in the divisions will be revisited every two years.

WCAC Commissioner Steve Colantuoni says that “this is an opportunity for WCAC schools to play national, regional, and local schedules within as well as outside the conference. It provides a flexibility that best serves our student-athletes and our member schools.”

Dr. Tom Curry, Head of School at Bishop Ireton and outgoing chair of the WCAC board, says “the board has taken strides this year along with the new commissioner to come to a unanimous agreement about the new structure.” Along with Bishop O’Connell and Paul VI, Bishop Ireton’s football team returns to the conference under this new structure.

There are no plans currently for other sports to compete in the same two divisions, although the conference is open to exploring that in future.

Dr. Dan McMahon, principal of DeMatha and incoming chair of the WCAC board, says that “this organization of the league allows us to preserve historical ties and serve our students well.”

The WCAC is also adding a new school. The Heights, a boys’ school in Montgomery County, will be joining the conference in the 2017-18 year in all of its sports. Together, Colantuoni and the heads of schools see this addition as part of a vision for possible continued expansion of the league.